Olga Tokarczuk awarded in Slovenia

Olga Tokarczuk is this year’s winner of Vilenica prize which has been awarded since 1986 by Slovene Writers’ Association to authors from Central Europe. The writer has thus joined other Polish Vilenica winners such as Zbigniew Herbert (1991), Adam Zagajewski (1996) and Andrzej Stasiuk (2008). Other Vilenica recipients include, among others, Tomas Venclova, Milan Kundera, Péter Esterházy and Claudio Magris.

Olga Tokarczuk is only the sixth woman writer to receive Vilenica in the 26-year-long history of the award. Previous female winners are Ilma Rakusa (2005), Brigitte Kronauer (2004), Ana Blandiana (2002), Erica Pedretti (1999) and Libuše Moniková (1993).

Source: www.instytutksiazki.pl

Enter the search phrase: