2nd edition of Wisława Szymborska Award

The Wisława Szymborska Foundation has just closed collecting volumes for the 2nd edition of the international poetry competition. The Wisława Szymborska Award of PLN 200,000 will be given to the best volume of poetry, originally written in Polish or translated into Polish, published last year. In 2013, the award went to Krystyna Dąbrowska and Łukasz Jarosz ex aequo.

In total, 168 poetry books have been submitted to the competition. Authors include Marzena Broda, Miłosz Biedrzycki, Wojciech Bonowicz, Tadeusz Dąbrowski, Jaceka Dehnel, Leszek Engelking, Zenon Fajfer, Darek Foks, Agnieszka Wolny-Hamkało, Julia Hartwig, Ewa Lipska, Krzysztof Karasek and Marcin Świetlicki.

A dozen or so translations have also been submitted, of such names as Herta Müller, Duo Duo, Gary Snyder and Philip Levine.

Most of the works are by authors born in the 1970s and 1980s. Poets born in the 1990s are also becoming increasingly visible. There are also more bilingual volumes published in both Polish and English by Polish residents of Great Britain.

In 2013 we received more books sent by the authors themselves and published at their own expense. In 2014 there were decidedly more volumes sent by publishing houses. Some debut volumes were also sent.

In May 2014 the Jury of the Wisława Szymborska award will select five nominees. The winner will be announced in October.

Enter the search phrase: